Nominations TCSC Award

The 2013 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing

Call for Nominations

The IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded for significant and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community through the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact research. The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium of $1000. During 2008-2011, this honour was presented as the IEEE Medal of Excellence. The past recipients of this IEEE award are: Professor Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, Professor Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, Professor William Gropp (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, Professor Albert Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, and Professor David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) in 2012.


A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members or may nominate him/her-self. An individual can nominate at most one candidate for this award. The candidate must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and TCSC member in good standing. Nomination must be submitted online via the TCSC web page ( A nomination application (as a single PDF file) should contain the following details:

  1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current professional affiliations and titles.
  2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
  3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical achievements as well as significance and impact. (Max 2 page length)
  4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidates service and specific contributions to TCSC and its community activities. (Max 2 page length)
  5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three at least endorsers. An endorser can endorse only one candidate for this award. The endorsers will be required to comment on the nominee's technical contributions as well as service to the TCSC and its community. It is nominator's responsibility to ensure that endorsement letters are submitted on/before the application deadline.

Nomination Deadline:  January 07, 2013

Results Notification:  February 01, 2013


The award selection committee will consist of past winners, leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC Executive Committee. The selection committee member cannot be a nominator or endorser.


The award will presented at the 13th IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid 2013) to be held in Delft, Netherlands from May 13-16, 2013. The winner should be available to receive the award in person and present a keynote talk at the CCGrid 2013 conference

  • Manish Parashar, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA, Chair,
  • David Abramson Monash University, Australia
  • Rajkumar Buyya, The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee, USA
  • William Gropp, University of Illinois, USA
  • Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • Dieter Kranzlmueller Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU), Germany
  • Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Valerie Taylor, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Albert Zomaya, University of Sydney, Australia